Chai Time

Travel Ban Update: Iran, Norway, Qatar impose travel restrictions for Pakistanis

Norway, Iran, and Qatar are now among the countries which have imposed travel restrictions for Pakistani passengers.

Saudi Arabia, Oman, Canada have already restricted flights from Pakistan amid a surge in COVID-19 cases.


Iran on Wednesday announced that it will be closing its land border as well with Pakistan owing to the situation emerging across the world after the third wave of novel coronavirus and the recent surge in new cases of Covid-19 in India.

The development comes days after Iran had halted flights with Pakistan and India.

A statement issued by the Iranian customs office said, “The Southeastern borders with Pakistan would only allow the return of Iranian and Pakistani nationals to their countries after the new ban is imposed on Wednesday.”


Norway has also imposed travel restrictions for travellers from Pakistan.

Norway’s Justice and Public Security Minister Monica Maeland in a statement issued said, “The rate of infections is very high in India, among other countries. In order to limit the risk of imported cases of new COVID-19 variants, we are now introducing stricter entry restrictions for travellers arriving from India and its neighbouring countries, as well as Iraq.”

“Travellers coming from Bangladesh, India, Iraq, Nepal, and Pakistan will have to quarantine at a hotel upon arrival to Norway,” it added.

“This means that people who undertake necessary travel to these countries will also be required to stay at a quarantined hotel,” the statement said.

The mandatory quarantine requirements will come into effect on Wednesday, April 28 at 12pm.


Meanwhile, Qatar’s Public Health Ministry has made it mandatory for passengers arriving from Pakistan to quarantine at a hotel.

According to the official statement conveyed by a publication, “under the new policy, a 10-day hotel quarantine for all passengers from the six countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the Philippines) is mandatory even if they are vaccinated against COVID-19.”

“The travellers will also have to have a negative PCR COVID-19 test taken from the designated health facilities 48 hours before their departure for Qatar,” it added.

“The travellers will undergo a repeat PCR test at their quarantine facility within 24 hours of their arrival, and will be tested again before the end of their quarantine period,” said the publication.

A growing number of countries placing restrictions on Pakistan travelers over the fears that they may bring the Indian variant of the coronavirus to their territories.

.fb-background-color {
background: !important;
.fb_iframe_widget_fluid_desktop iframe {
width: 100% !important;

The post Travel Ban Update: Iran, Norway, Qatar impose travel restrictions for Pakistanis appeared first on Oyeyeah.

Related Articles

Back to top button